Who will be the next Arsenal departure? plus Thierry Henry, Red Balls and a Sore Arse.

Welcome to the GunnersoreArse blog. Being blogged 918.74 kilometers (in a straight line) from the Emirates Stadium.

There’s lots of speculation at the moment surrounding who may leave the Arsenal in the very near future. So here is a little poll to see what people think. Comments about reasons would be useful so feel free to add something in the comments section. I’ve only included who I feel are first team players, leaving out those on the periphery who may go out on loan. I’ve also left out TV5 because he would have been an obvious choice. I’ve also left out our recent signings Sanchez and Debuchy for obvious reasons. Current rumours are focussing on Jenks going if another RB like Chambers is signed. Which would be a shame because I really like the lad and he is a Gooner through and through. Cazorla has been linked with a move back to Spain and Podolski always seems to be a likely candidate because everyone seems to think that Wenger doesn’t like him? But is there a possible shock departure on the cards. Do vote and let me know your thoughts.

 

 

New York, New York! Match report.

New York Red Bulls 1 – 0 Arsenal

(Wright-Phillips 33)

A full stadium of 25,000, temperature 28c and Thierry Henry. Strangely, the game wasn’t on Arsenal player and from what I heard on the bloggoshere, most viewers had to watch on pay TV. That is except here in Fance where the game was televised on normal terrestrial TV for free, a bizarre state of affairs. As was Wengers starting XI with Monreal at CB and Rosicky it appeared, as the lone striker. It took me a while to work out the set up, originally thinking that Kieran Gibbs was playing as a left winger.

First-Half

But we had Thierry Henry on the pitch and he nearly got the game off to a fairy tale start within 5 minutes when he ran clear of our defence and with his normal nonchalance, tried to curve the ball into the far post. Schezzers however, knew what was coming and managed to tip the ball away for a corner. Wright-Phillips nearly did the same thing a few seconds later. After this early flurry of chances, the game settled into a fairly mundane affair  with the Gunners struggling to keep shape and with no real goal threat apart from a good effort from Ramsey and on the 30th minute mark a good counter attack which was let down by a bad cross from Cazorla. Then a few minutes later, from a Henry corner, Wright-Phillips scrambled the ball into the net after some lax defending by the Arsenal. A few minutes before half-time Wilshere probably had the best chances, the first with just the keeper to beat and then with a good volley which he unluckily saw deflected wide.

Second Half

There were seven changes made at half-time, with Diaby and Akpom coming on. But the Gunners always seemed on the back foot, out of shape and struggling to control the game, often getting themselves into difficulty with poor passing and losing the ball. Thierry was substituted in the 53rd minute and for me, the game lost most of its interest. Diaby looked good and in the 55th minute he had the ball in the net, but he was adjudged to have been marginally off-side. It was a shame because he took it very well. There were another two substitutions at the obligatory 70 minutes, with Olsson and Toral coming on for Rosicky and Cazorla. But the game had lost any form of edge, and often drifted in midfield with short passes and a lack of creativity. There were just three moments of excitement in the last 12 minutes. Akpom got behind the Red Bull defence but with just the keeper to beat his first touch let him down. Then Martinez, our third choice keeper made an excellent save from close range and finally, Akpom tripped over his own feet and won a free- kick on the edge of the box. Replays showed it was not a dive. Ollson however, wasted the free-kick. Two minutes of added time saw nothing else of interest materialise.

Overall it was disappointing and I think it showed Arsénes frustration at being asked to make the trip purely on the basis of marketing and financial considerations. I think there was no benefit for the team in pre-season preparation except for a jolly to New York and the Puma promotions. It was however, great to see Thierry, majestic as ever, controlling most of the play for the Red Bulls and one piece of typical Henry magic in the opening minutes. But the best moment of the match for me came after the final whistle, seeing Henry and Diaby, hugging and having a laugh and a joke together. Priceless.

Right, time for a glass of wine and some spicy chorizo…… hope you enjoyed your visit. Until the next time.

à bientôt

GunnersoreArse, your glossy Sunday supplement. Every Sunday morning at 9am GMT.  The season starts in just two weeks, are my little SoreArses excited? And don’t forget, you can see my Arts supplement here: http://wp.me/p4PyIS-3

 

 

 

176 thoughts on “Who will be the next Arsenal departure? plus Thierry Henry, Red Balls and a Sore Arse.

  1. Watching Arteta nowadays shows he is a yard too slow and not physically strong or mobile enough for the DM positions. Flamini too. It must be hard for Wenger to be hard. Arteta is a nice guy. Is Wenger tough enough to be honest enough to both Arteta and Flamini. I don’t think so. He will not replace Arteta and that may cost us dearly. Who we don’t need is one thing. Who we DESPERATELY need is another. Including internationals Giroud played 61 games last season. Slave labour. We clamoured during both transfer windows for a striker. Result was the ‘stubborn one’ bought none. The result of that was we collapsed and lost the Premier League. Had we have had a good alternative striker we would have won the DOUBLE. Guess what, if we do not buy another striker to share Giroud’s load, the team will collapse on the run in…guaranteed.

  2. Thanks for the write up: sounds a typically lacklustre pre-season jaunt. I think Walcott will be the next to go as his contract will be up soonish and his career could probably do with a change of scene. I say this with huge reluctance as he is my favourite player!

  3. Interesting you should think that FH

    I voted on my poll for Arteta because I think he really has passed his best for us and as a DM he just doesn’t have it anymore. However, if I were to be truly candid, I think it may be Wishere.

  4. Chambers doesn’t make sense to me as there is little to chose between him and Jenkinson so my conclusion is that one of them, most probably Jenkinson will go out on loan or even be sold..Neither are proven as a regular RB let alone any other position.

    My hunch maybe right that AW may sell Campbell to A C Milan in part exchange for Balotelli as Campbell’s current market price will be the best we would get after his CL and WC showings,so perhaps he will never wear an Arsenal shirt.

    Who really knows and why was Sanogo left behind yesterday for the Red Bulls game yet was good enough to be thrown into the deep end in the CL. As I have always said you can never second guess AW

  5. Arteta is past his best. He is neither strong enough nor possessing enough speed to manage a defensive midfield role. This was evident last season and was commented on by several play by play analysts. We definitely do need a defensive midfield player along with another striker if Arsenal are going to push the teams in front of them. This does not mention the need for a third central back to compliment Kos and Mert. Otherwise, we will struggle to hold on to fourth place let alone challenge for the EPL title.

  6. Morning Kelsey…. well, afternoon here now:-)

    I’m wondering if Chambers is a possible buy because of his versatility. Although he is unproven with what, only 20 odd PL appearances. Swapping Campbell for Mario seems a bit weird, I’d rather AW keep Campbell but then again, I’ve been an advocate for signing Mario….. so I’m a bit stuck with that one. I think AW said Sanogo had a small injury.

  7. Two Owls

    I tend to agree, Arteta isn’t the player he was when he first arrived. He is the weak link in front of our defence. I wonder if AW has seen the potential of Chambers taking that position, although he is relatively unproven as a CDM and young as well. It would be a shame to see players like Sanchez and Debuchy come in to the team only to be let down by not re-enforcing at CB and CDM. But still time, and Wenger seems to be enjoying spending the clubs money:-)

  8. I tend to agree about Arteta and he gave away the most free kicks last season in dangerous positions,but knowing AW he doesn’t always do the obvious.
    NB,

    To play Chambers in that position at this moment of time is an experiment and we were pretty close last season to possibly winning the title,so we need proven experience to play the holding role, now..

  9. The attack and attacking midfield is more or less sorted but an additional striker wouldn’t go amiss.Still have a gut feeling that if the right deal could be made, podolski would be part of it.

    We are overloaded in midfield but the defence is my main concern.We have to perform better against the other top sides and improve or points tally against them.
    We don’t know as yet how the new RB will perform, Gibbs is good but will always get injuries,Monreal IMO just isn’t good enough and Arteta/flamini as already discussed needs an upgrade.
    pers and Kos play very well together but Pers gets caught out on pace and if Kos gets injured,we are lightweight again.

  10. It’s difficult innit…………. if we have these problems, imagine what AW goes through!

    But Kelsey, last season saw us drop down the table from injuries elsewhere, Ramsey and Walcott, not DM. Our defence was fairly solid…. *cough* but we were short in the goal scoring department. I coulkd see AW getting Chambers (versatile) and perhaps when a more solid defence is needed , you know, when tactics need to be changed according to the opposition *ahem* then TV5 to play alongside him just in front of the defence. But I’m not a PL manager and I’m now doing something that I don’t normally discuss *laughs*😀

  11. Me neith NB:) but we got blasted 4 times last season within 30 odd minutes and would Walcott have made a difference.

    So often in big games, even the Cup Final we seem to stumble out of the blocks and get caught quickly, the team get shell shocked and seem to freeze yet on other occasions are performances are outstanding and we really look up for it.

    Funny old game,football.:)

  12. The inconsistancy last season was something else. But I think tactics or lack of, was the problem. But defence does seem to be getting more priority so we’ll have to wait and see what develops *crosses fingers* Funny old game indeed mate:-)

  13. Afternoon Sorearses

    Nice one 69, but I don’t see why any one should leave, we need players coming in not leaving.

    I have always believed that if your asked to go, then do it with dignity.

    Thats why when my current wife asked me to go, I refused and divided the house instead. Not like Steptoe & Son. Everything is self contained and very modern. The thing cost me a shed load of money but its worth it.

    When I bring women back I like to flaunt them to the Mrs and then send text messages to her “were about to do it now”, or “if you try and cut my water again I will sue”

    Dignity my friends, dignity

  14. hahaha Terence

    If Chambers comes in then someone has to go, I get confused with all this home grown/team size malarky, it’s too much for me brain cells. But I see Arteta being moved on soon. I think the guy is excellent but needs be.

  15. NB,not much to say you have said everything,i hope Arteta is replaced asap so we can move forward with ease,NB sorry havent been here in a while

  16. ustyn

    No probs mate, drop in whenever you like, but more the merrier. And I need a few more faces to stop those three elderly reprobates GunnerN5, Arnie and Kelsey taking over the gaff😀

    I don’t think it’s a foregone conclusion that Mikel is leaving, but he does seem to be the most likely candidate.

  17. Must say, I feel a bit sorry for Arteta.

    I went to nearly every home game last season and the guy was excellent. It was also only 18 months ago that we could win a game without him.

    I know he is one paced and is probably to good looking to be a midfielder enforcer, but his technique on the ball is second to none.

    In certain away games last year other sides sussed that we play through him so pressed high up forcing mistakes.

    Okay, maybe we can do better, but the word of warning is that only replace him if we decide to play a bit more direct and by pass the midfield pivot.

    If Arsene brings in a big, fast, tough tackling type and trys to play through that player, we will have problems.

  18. I know what you mean Terry, he comes across as a really nice guy. But players get to the end of their careers and sentimentality or, Love in your case, can’t really be an option.:-) But if he goes can we keep Mrs Arteta😀

  19. hahaha, all these footballers seem to have fit birds 69.

    Just once I would like to see one be with an ugly crone, get publicly beaten by her handbag in Tescos, and yelled at “my mother warned me about you”

    Not that this has ever happened to me of course.

  20. I would never think that has happened to you Terence😀 and definately not in Tescos, in Lidl perhaps

    I was talking with Total over at BK this morning about the south of France. I told him about a bird I had whos parents had a place near St Tropez. Her Dad didn’t like me dating his daughter very much because he was only 2 years older than me😀😀

  21. Yeah, I saw that 69, good for you.

    Thats the problem these days mate, no respect. Why should some overbearing fatherly type deny you a good time?

    Ime very honest about these things. A couple of years ago i was going out with this women who kept going on at me to open up about my feelings. She had a beautiful 19 year old daughter so I told her straight, “I would very much enjoy having sex with your daughter”.

    She was on at me for months about opening up about my feelings and when I did she gave me the boot. Theres just no pleasing some people.

  22. I’ve always been suspicious of women who like to share feelings….. unless it’s, “yes, just there, right there, oh yes that feels good”:-) Otherwise, they best kept hidden, can only get men into trouble as far as I’m concerned.

  23. I’m getting lots of clicks today but not many votes on the poll.Can I ask people, even if you are just reading and not commentating to please vote. It will be interesting to see. The poll will be open all week. Right, I’m off out for a drink in the sun. Later.:-)

  24. ah, unlucky me, I missed the publord again. But, let me say, a jolly good double bill. Well done NorthBank.:)

    I am following the discussion on Arteta and so on. But I refuse to vote. Every good guy who puts on the shirt is a part of my soul, to me is more of a Gooner than many a numpty season ticket holder even, and it pains me when they leave. I have been spotted crying in a corner for a departed soul more often than rejoicing at a new toy.

    I am not naive, I know attrition is inevitable, but it is just that I would not like to speculate about this. Who should be our new toy, now that is a more happy question, even if I am not knowledgeable enough, I would be happy to be part of that discussion. To me every player is a Gooner for life, or should be. Alas!

    Actually, you guys are right, players’ departures are strategic, most often than not in the case of Arsenal. Usually when they are past their sell-by date, or close to, and when both they and the club can make a profit by the move. It suits everyone, except hapless fans like myself who suffers from the loss of an organ, an ear, the nose, the throat, and sometimes even the unmentionables.

    IMO, even van Judas, much as I hate him, was moved on by the club. I hate it. As far as I am concerned all current players are part of the Gooner family, they stay in, through good and bad, whether they are brilliant players or not. They are family, you see!:):):)

  25. Afternoon All
    Perhaps people haven’t voted because there is no prize:) A nice 19yo for the afternoon and your clicks would go through the roof.
    I can’t help thinking that Campbell will be sold while his stock is high, but on your list Pod seems most likely….but second guessing AW .
    I didn’t get to watch the match last night, so no input there.

  26. This home grown rule is a farce to me but to be honest I don’t really understand it.Home grown to me is born and raised in the UK not teenagers who come from abroad and learn their trade here.
    I think it should be clarified.

    NB

    Are there any new build houses in your area or fairly new .A small house just 3 bedrooms,garden,pool and how cold is it in the winte rand what is the price range to buy or long term rent.I really am interested.

  27. Evening sorearses…. bloody hell who to respond to?:-)

    Arnie, commendable philosophy…. did you feel the same about Bendtner?

    Kelsey, old is fucking old mate, get over it😀

    Michael, you didn’t miss much. I probably watched the whole game because I wanted practice doing my first match report:-)

    HTL’s, I’ll pop over to ACLF to have a look

    Kelsey again, Lots of new builds in this region, but generally on what are called ‘lotisiments’, small housing estates. A friend has just bought one, not bad, 3 beds, nice views and on the edge of a lotisiment for something like 160,000 euros. (about £125,000) In a nice village as well. Can get very cold in the winter, Jan and Feb, with the mistral, benefit is that normally it is blue skies and sunshine

    Rent will be between 700 and 1000 euros a month.

  28. Good morning SoreArses…. and in my case a SoreHead.:-)

    Kelsey, I’ll check some websites for you and post links. I forgot to mention in that post that at those prices a pool isn’t included. Add another 20 – 40,000 euros for that.

  29. If we move that’s where I want to live.Is it what one might call south west and how far from the coast.

    I just wrote a quick 5 minute post on AA if you are interested.

  30. Hi Kelsey

    Provence and the Cote d’Azur are the South-East. From me in Avignon, the coast is an hours drive. But for the real Cote d’Azur, it’s a 3-4 hour drive to the coast just by St Trop.

    I’ll have a look at your post on AA….

  31. I know the Cote d’Azur very well from Cannes right through to Monaco,The Grand Corniche drive is wonderful, but it’s bloody expensive.

  32. Very expensive, but you could find somewhere in the Vaucluse. Depends how much you’re prepared to go to Kelsey. My last house spent 200,000 euros on buying it and renovating it, now worth over 600,000.

  33. Torrential rain and thunder all night and still stormy at 9:15 am this morning.

    NB it’s a tough call on who may or may not be sold or loaned out and AW’s choice will be made all the more difficult due to players late return from the WC or new players integration into the squad. Some players, who he might want to sell or loan out, may be retained simply as short term cover – that’s why we are fortunate to have AW making those decisions.

  34. Calum Chambers signs for Arsenal

    Calum Chambers has joined Arsenal from Southampton on a long-term contract for an undisclosed fee.

    The 19-year-old made his Premier League debut for the Saints on the opening day of the 2013/14 campaign, going on to feature 22 times in the competition last term.

    Chambers joined the Southampton academy aged seven, breaking into the club’s first team squad at the beginning of 2012/13.

    He has a lot of the attributes that we look for in a young player and I am sure that he will do well with us

    Tall and athletic, the versatile youngster started his career in midfield, but established himself at right back last season and can also play in the centre of defence. He is currently captain of England Under-19s.

    Arsène Wenger said: “We are very pleased that Calum has agreed to join us. The way he adapted to the Premier League last season with Southampton at a young age shows that he has tremendous quality. He has a lot of the attributes that we look for in a young player and I am sure that he will do well with us.”

    Chambers said: “I am so happy to be signing for Arsenal. They are a team I have much admired for their playing style, and a team who have been one of the top sides in Europe for many years. I’m looking forward to joining up with my new team-mates today and beginning preparation for the season ahead.

    “I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone at Southampton FC for everything they have done for me and for making this move possible.”

    It is expected that Chambers will make his first Arsenal appearance at the Emirates Cup 2014, which takes place at Emirates Stadium on August 2 and 3.

    Chambers’ Arsenal squad number will be revealed soon through Arsenal’s official Instagram account.

    Everyone at Arsenal would like to welcome Calum to the club.

    Copyright 2014 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to http://www.arsenal.com as the source 28 Jul 2014
    Share this Story

  35. Good siesta NB:)
    I reckon 1 more buy assuming there are no first team sales. Haven’t a clue who or what position and will probably come quite late in the window… for old time sake.
    Pearls of wisdom or a guess!!

  36. Hello Michael

    My siestas are always good…. I do enjoy an afternoon nap.:-)

    Me too,one more to come in….. I couldn’t imagine Soton selling any more but Sniederthingybob would be ok. Me thinks AW will be happy with CB cover now if TV5 stays. But still a big question mark over him??? I hope he stays and then goes on a free next year.

    Apart from the dream of another striker….. but who’s available now apart from Mad Mario?
    I’m not a fan of Cavani or Falcao… both wet squibs as far as I’m concerned.:-)

  37. On that last note about a striker. For those with the love of France are you up on Alexandre Lacazette of Lyon. May be worth watching him on YouTube if you haven’t seen him for Lyon. Of course all is opinion, but he is for sale, and he is a good striker.

  38. Steve

    I’ve been a fan of Lacazette for a long time and was hoping AW would go for him. He reminds me of TH14 in the making. But Newcastle are after him as well? But if Arsenal make a bid I don’t see him turning us down…. wait and see.

  39. Hi Northbank. If we could get a hundred thousand Gooners to telepath Alexandre Laczette’s name into Wenger’s head at about 10pm, after French dinner time of course, then we can allow Wenger to believe it’s his idea. Any good telepathics on line?

  40. Even without getting another Striker or a CDM, the team is looking very good at the moment.

    GK: Sczhezzer, Ospina, Martinez
    RB: Debuchy, Chambers, Jenks
    LB: Gibbs, Nacho, Verm
    CB’s: Kos, Mert, Verm, Chambers, Miquel
    MF: Wilshere, Ramsey, Rosicky, Diaby, Arteta, Cazorla, Ozil, Flamini and poss Chambers
    Forward Line: Oxlade, Sanchez, Walcott, Giroud, Campbell, Akpom, Gnabry, Podolski

    That looks fuckicking good to me.

  41. hmmm, where shall we even start, NorthBank? First of all, apologies for being late to the party. There is the issue of time zones and all that, but most importantly the problem of temporary relocation. The problem of a short (1 month in this case) relocation is that, it takes you a week to settle in, another week at the end to wind down, and that leaves only a fortnight in the middle.😦

    Regarding old gits and all that, Kelsey is right, even if I sound like a grumpy old man, I have the heart of a child!😛 I am already getting bored with the new toys and trying to think which ones I should throw out of the pram. And what I should demand next! Spare the rod and spoil the child?:):)

    And Bendy. Oh dear, what a waste! But, (almost) every family has its black sheep. What do you do about it. Try to support them, wish they would reform, but you cannot just wish them away. But if (and when) they are gone, you mutter “good riddance” to yourself, and move on!😛

    And finally, about Wenger being taken over by aliens. A thought has crossed my mind, and I suspect it is not only myself. It is a painful and sombre thought, so hush about this. Just between the two of us, I have a strange feeling that this may well be the final team that he is building for us. I hope not, and sad if it turned out that way.😦

  42. Hi arnie

    I think you may be thinking along the right lines. If this is Wengers last three years at the club, which will take him to what, 67, then I would think he is building his legacy…. a team to leave his successor, more than what teh ManU manager did for his mate.

  43. Yes, NorthBank, agreed.:)

    Very soon we may even begin to see the invisible hand of ANO in the organisation of the team. The unnamed successor. We do our things differently, unlike the disorganised chaos that is ManUre.😛

  44. Morning all

    I used to take the lazy way down to the South of France with the Wagon Lit sleeper with cars at the back and went from Calais to Frejus overnight.A bit crammed and no bloody food on the train.I am sure we passed through Avignon on the way down.

  45. kelsey

    I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve driven from Normandy to the South. Sometimes the quick route, 6-8 hours. Sometimes the long route 11-12 hours. Sometimes at night sometimes during the day. But you know what, I’ve always enjoyed it.
    And yes, you would pass through Avignon on the way to Frejus on the train:-)

  46. Well they have all abandoned ship on AA so I quickly put a few lines together so that we have a New Post.

    By the way NB if you have time about property links would you kindly e mail them to me as opposed to putiing it on the blog.

  47. Afternoon,
    Funny how we talk about players leaving when we are buying more than we have for years.
    But a good question, and the answer for me is Arteta Rosiski and Flamony
    To be honest i don’t see what Jenks or us would benefit by a loan, let alone selling him. He’s ready now, sure he has a few rough edges but so has Giroud and every other player. I would be surprised if anybody goes this year, Now that of course is first team players Reserves could of course be loaned out,

    Rosiski Arteta and Flamoni will move on next season or maybe retire Pace catches up to all old uns and its up to the club to refresh, I also don’t see Podolski being used that much or even Myachi Martinez will maybe see a game or two but not much more than that if the other two stay fit. I see our wage bill hitting new heights as Wenger tries to keep all players wages closer, but a squad is a squad and we will have to suffer some unearned wages. I see more leaving next season than this so haven’t voted.

  48. Michael

    It’s a bit of a cold war between some on LG and ACLF and Yogi didn’t like someone just posting a link without leaving any sort of comment.

    Don’t blame him as he comes across as a very reasonable fellow.

  49. It wasn’t from LG…. it was someone from PA who posted a link to that blogs post. Didn’t leave any comment and then went back on PA and boasted about what they’d done. To give him credit, PG wasn’t happy about it and supported Yogi.

  50. Oh sorry my apologies.I just assumed wrongly it was from LG.

    It’s a pity that there are so many splinter groups happening on Arsenal sites.
    Some people get so aggressive behind a keyboard and the poor author is the one who suffers.

  51. Thanks lads
    You are right about splinter groups and keyboard warriors.
    I often wonder when reading comments if they are the literary equivalent of the selfie….look at me. Sad bastards need to get a life.

  52. Evening Sorearses

    Know what you mean Michael, keyboard warriors are ridiculous.

    I have been threatened with violence before, not on football sites, but on the hair loss message board “The Bald Truth”, all for having the audacity to suggest we indulge in a who most resembles an egg lookalike competition. They take things very seriously on that place

    Anyway, this one particular bloke “Kojacks Trousers”, lost it so bad that we agreed to meet up outside Turnpike Lane tube to sort it out. Of course, having a terrible fear of violence and the fact that I had just had a facial, theres was no way I was turning up.

    What i did do, was park my motor across the road and observed Trousers hanging around outside. The geezer was getting all irate, at one stage even grabbing some innocent folicaly chalanged passer by around the throat.

    The next day we both posted that we were there but the other didnt turn up, he obviously did, whilst so did I, but from a comfortable distance were I enjoyed observing his antics whilst dining on a fine doner kebab. hahaha

  53. Morning all.

    NB

    Looking at all the estate agent signs at the top of your post I noticed Winkworth as one of them, a UK company.Where was that picture taken as it’s not exactly Belgravia:)

    Do you mind if we talk about anything on here or is it the lull before the storm when footie really starts.

    Direction please.

  54. Morning sorearses and kelsey

    I’m easy mate, lots of things Arsenal to discuss at the moment. Four very good players coming in, Arsenes spending perhaps not yet over! Verm, will he go or won’t he? Is a loan to West Ham a good thing for Jenks? What will the team be for the Charity Shield considering ze Germans will not be available?

    No idea where that photo was taken, I just googled ‘for sale’ signs:-)

  55. Morning all,

    Overcast and only 18c this morning and rain in the forecast – looks like the rest of the week will be the same……..

    It’s been an unusually positive transfer period for Arsenal which is just great, good signings in all the right positions – except maybe an additional striker!

    The question that I ponder is “How would the past 8/9 seasons have turned out if AW’s hands had not been tied behind his back?”

  56. Motning GN5, NorthBank, Kelsey, et al. Finally trying to get back on the saddle.:)

    GN5, for me your question goes back to Kelsey’s post yesterday that I could not respond me. I am firmly in the leopard changing spots camp. In fact, following on from some discussion with NB a few days back, I was trying to compose a story of two leopards, Selfcentred Autocrat Fatso and Amiable Well-doer.

    SAF comes close to the end of his reign and decides to change his skin. How? Giving a call to AW to ask for help to see him through. Taking Judas in and in typical selfish fashion of caring only for himself, leaving on a high but screwing the team up for quite some time.

    Amiable Well-doer also changes his spots, but in favour of building a young team for the benefit of the club and its fans, and potentially even his successor. What matters not is whether the leopard changes his spots, but how he does so.

    Hence, I am not entirely convinced by the argument as to what Wenger would have done if he had a lot of dosh. He would just be himself, and that is what we love about the man, above everything else. Now things have changed and different expectations for the future. The current transfer season is a sign of things to come, perhaps even beyond the Wenger era. All for the good of the club.:)

  57. I was starting to wonder if everyone had deserted my pub:-)

    I think AW now finds himself in a position he may have preferred more of over the last 7/8 years. It hasn’t been easy for the man under the financial constraints induced by the Stadium build. But now he has been released fron those shackles and as arnie and I discussed, has set about building the team of the future, his legacy. Because if we’re honest, how much longer will he continue after his 67th birthday? Perhaps with more success over the next three years it will give him a new lease of life, like viagra, and he will want to continue into his 70’s.:-)

  58. NB,

    It’s most unfortunate that AW’s tenure has been blighted by the Red Top’s need to attract readers and their readers inability to sort fact from fiction. I’ve seen the teams of every manager from Tom Whittaker forward and in my, less than humble, opinion none of them are in the same class as Arsene.
    Based on other life experiences my belief is that history will be a lot kinder to him and his legacy will tell a very different story than the one told by the misguided “experts”

    I cannot bear to think of Arsenal without AW at the helm but I truly believe that he will leave the club and its supporters with a solid foundation for the future and I can think of only one other Arsenal manager who has done the same – Herbert Chapman. Oh boy – how I would have liked to have seen him and his teams in action, but even I’m not that old, and now all we can get is the odd glimpse on Pathe News Reels.

  59. NB
    It’s no good complaining of no customers… if you sleep all afternoon:)

    As for the future, there will be a day when he leaves and I suspect there will be many Wenger outs, who if honest may revise their opinions after a managerial change.
    When he does go, I am certain that he will leave the club in good shape for whoever, to pick up the baton.
    Roll on saturday:)

  60. Michael. “It’s no good complaining of no customers… if you sleep all afternoon:) ” Agreed.😛

    NB: life is tough, trying to do my best!😛

    GN5. In complete agreement! Too much agreement, oh dear!😛

  61. Life is tough! That’s why I religiously have a siesta every afternoon… even if I go to a bar to sit on a terrace, I close my eyes and doze for 15 minutes. Stress free…. that’s the answer.:-)

  62. Michael

    I bet it can’t come quick enough for you:-)

    Look, I’m off out for a couple of hours. So have a good evening and for arnie and GN5, a good afternoon:-)

  63. Common practice in southern Spain to have a seista and in any case generally they don’t like working.Spain has more regional holidays than any other country in Europe and often they time them for a Thursday then they all bugger off until the following Monday.

    With regards to 4 players in,the keeper and Debuchy were imperative but what is interesting is that both Debuchy and Chambers can also play in defence.
    Still feel we will get one more as it appears Vermaelen will be off nearer the end of the window.

  64. Monsieyr Landlord

    Do you shut early on a Wednesday ?.

    Still seeing persistent tabloid stories in both the Spanish and English media that a)Santi is unsettled in London,b)Atletico want him. Hope it’s not true.

  65. Don’t think so.

    I went on that PA site yesterday and read the post and your comments. I really disagree with the post, in fact I could have torn it to bits,as peoples circumstances change and there are so many other things that may stop people from going, but I daren’t go on there as what’s the point as I wouldn’t go back to argue my case..

  66. Indeed,there are some very good bloggers on there some more articulate than others and their insight as to what is going on worldwide in football terms is amazing.I wonder where they get all the info from.

    I like JJ’s point, as I kinda know him and understand his stance.

    I haven’t been to a game since 1979 for reasons you might not believe.

    Going back to Santi I still think Podolski might go by Jan or before but if either goes it may well be a part exchange deal.

  67. Kelsey

    I’ve been reading your commendable efforts on AA to keep discussions going. What I’ve started to do since commencing this blog is that when I get an idea for a post, I start to write it and go back to it occassionally, half hour here and there. Then just leave it for a day when I haven’t prepared anything. At the moment I’ve got 3 articles nearly finished and I’m keeping them for a rainy day.:-)

  68. Morning lads, I’m late

    Kelsey can’t you sleep:)

    I also would like Santi to stay never mind the football…he always seems so happy.

    Catch you later.

  69. NB
    I’m going to visit you when I move….whether you like it or not:)
    A bit of craic, smoke and a couple of bottles of Chateau Nasty (sorry HTL). I suspect we would get on well… more than might be apparent.

  70. Michael

    That sounds good to me mate. But no Chateau Nasty for me, I buy Chateau cheap but not bad!:-) But we’ll invite HTL along as well and he can bring some of the good stuff.

  71. I was watching the news last night about this terrible and complicated shelling in Gaza and in Israel and they showed a young lad in Gaza wearing an Arsenal shirt with Fabregas on the back.

    Obviously I am not trying to even attempt the politics but we have fans in places one would never expect.

  72. It’s amazing isn’t it Kelsey. There arn’t many countries in the world where we wouldn’t have supporters. But I suppose that could be said of all the top teams.

    I saw an emission once on French TV about a group of Romanies who had set up camp on a municipal football pitch, somewhere here in the South. The police turned up and the young gypsies went to get the spokesman. Well this massive geezer turns up to talk to the police wearing a TH14 shirt.

  73. Great mine’s a Bodington’s.

    1977 – that was in the middle of a 15 period where all we won was the 1978/79 FA Cup. Why do you think they were the good old days – oh I get it – it was the height of your nicking years?

  74. That tastes good but its only 10:00 am here so I started a tad early today.

    Siesta’s are strictly a European thing. North America is more of a working culture plus the weather is not as hot and humid as Southern Europe. Personally I wouldn’t want to lose a few hours every day, I want to experience as much as I can, especially at my age, slowing down is unthinkable.

  75. Bodlington’s great adverts back in the day.

    Talking fans around the world. I was in the north of Thailand a couple of years ago and there was a crowd of people around a stall at a local market. Being curious (nosey) I went for a look..they were watching a Chelsea match on a laptop. It really showed how far the PL has permeated through society round the globe.
    4.5 lines is that better?

  76. Is your painting taking a back seat now you are an international blogger of somewhat dubious repute!!!

    I was not surprised by your guest post today, a shock perhaps to the more genteel though.

  77. GN5 10am is ok for the first drink of the day:-)

    Michael, my painting nearly always takes a back seat. LOL:-)
    The blogging is fairly easy as long as I just keep it to once a week. I can type very quickly. I can paint very quickly as well when necessary😀

  78. NB. No siesta, eh? A pint of lager, make sure its cold, then please sir!😛

    I am a bit of a dumbo, what is ACLF?

    OK, off to GN5’s post, should be an immense pleasure.:)

  79. Just seen that theres European footy tonight at 7pm (french) Lyon vs Boleslav. Get a little looksy at Lacazette. I wonder if AW will have a couple of scouts there?

  80. Thanks, Kelsey. I usually do only AA, and nowadays frequent the SoreArse pub for my drinks. Since you guys say it was nice on ACLF yesterday, I will have a look.:):):)

    Brilliant stuff by GN5 on AA by the way! And brilliant single-handed marshalling last few days by Kelsey. Respect.:):)

    Now, my dear NorthBank, my drink, if you please, Sir.:) Bloody publords. How can they forget their patrons? Life is too easy down in France, it would seem.😛

  81. Thank you, NB. Lansing it is, East Lansing to be precise. Lovely weather today. It has been a bit chilly last few days. But hard life.:):):)

    And I hear all upbeat in Austria!:) Only 10 days to the Community Shield. Our good guys better get their arses in shape!😛

    A pint for your good self as well, NB, on the tab, please.:)

  82. I was pleasantly surprised to see Joel training in Austria. Surprised as I thought he would be sold before he had an interaction with the squad. Hopefully that means he is staying with the club?

  83. I just took a peek at Arsenal .com and Joel has now been given a squad number – 28.
    The only 1st ream player listed in the squad without a shirt number is Djourou.

  84. That makes sense to me. Campbell will be useful to the squad.

    In case Verms leaves, and in case a replacement cannot be arranged (perhaps the Carvalho chap?), Djourou may stay. I think.:)

  85. I wouldn’t read too much into that just yet GN5.He has 2 years left on his contract and has yet to play for us.He may well be sold to get the optimum price after his WC performances.

    When I lived in Marbella, Malaga were the local team and for years were relegated one season and then back up again the next.

    The arabs came in and invested a huge amount of money as well as building a new port at a cost of 400 million euros.
    12000 ex pats have season tickets at Malaga and the average cost is 400 euros,yet when Barca or RM play there and you aren’t a season ticket holder one can pay more than 400 euros just for one of those fixtures.

  86. Yea I hear you Kelsey but I still hope that he’s a keeper (not goal keeper) as his WC games were a real eye opener.
    He popped up all over the place and his speed on the wings was really impressive along with his ability to keep the ball and score goals.

  87. I asked this question today and the answer was the following.

    Barca owed us £8 million from Cesc deal, from what i read we recieved that £8million start of summer then we got £5.8 million from sell on to Cheslea, so Chambers cost us nothing.

  88. Arnie,
    ACLF as Kelsey states is a very good blog, the pub that we are in could be considered as a sunday supplement to it, as Yogi kindly let NB use links. Where as PA was a splinter group that catered only really for Arsene’s ultras to begin with…a lot of hateful posters, but not all.
    Now barman give this man a drink.

  89. Michael. Thanks.:)

    Barman, what barman? The pub is shut down. Publord off to walk his dog or so he claims. hmmm.😛

  90. Morning NB
    A friend who supports the Hammers is delighted by Jenks ‘s signing, I do hope he does well there..seems a nice lad and has Arsenal dna.
    Overcast here, summer as such, is generally wishful thinking here.

  91. I’ll drink to that.
    He put a positive spin on the move, I wonder if AW will allow him to play agains’t us.

  92. I don’t think Wenger ever demands a clause like that in loan deals, i may be wrong though. The only clause I would like is that he can be recalled if injuries are at crisis point.

  93. NorthBank off to siesta again.😦

    BTW, excellent post on ACLF yesterday.:) I went through the discussions from day before. Loved teh stuff, but not so much the way people started getting stuck on to Terence, who I thought made some excellent points.

    Specifically, I believe the club is actually subsidising season tickets because the market price would actually be higher. If season ticket holders do not like this, let them back out. Plenty of other fans to pick these up even at higher prices. And they may even be better fans on the ground rather than the bile spewing boo-ing fakes.😦

  94. arnie, I think this is what NB dreamed about after 18 months of staring up at concrete ceilings!

    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    An American businessman was at the pier of a small coastal Mexican village when a small boat with just one fisherman(an ex-con) docked. Inside the small boat were several large yellow fin tuna.

    The American complimented the fisherman on the quality of his fish and asked how long it took to catch them.

    The fisherman replied that it took only a little while.

    The American then asked why didn’t he stay out longer and catch more fish? The fisherman said he had enough to support his family’s immediate needs.

    The American then asked, but what do you do with the rest of your time?

    The fisherman said, “I sleep late, fish a little, play with my children, take siesta with my girlfriend’s, stroll into the village each evening where I sip wine and play guitar with my amigos. I have a full and busy life, senior.”

    The American scoffed, “I am a Harvard MBA and could help you. You should spend more time fishing and with the proceeds, buy a bigger boat. With the proceeds from the bigger boat you could buy several boats, eventually you would have a fleet of fishing boats. Instead of selling your catch to a middleman you would sell directly to the processor, eventually opening your own cannery. You would control the product, processing and distribution. You would need to leave this small coastal fishing village and move to Mexico City, then Los Angeles and eventually New York City where you will run your expanding enterprise.”

    The fisherman asked, “But senior, how long will this all take?”

    To which the American replied, “15 to 20 years.”

    “But what then, senior?”

    The American laughed and said, “That’s the best part. When the time is right you would announce an IPO and sell your company stock to the public and become very rich. You would make millions.”

    “Millions, senior? Then what?”

    The American said, “Then you would retire. Move to a small coastal fishing village where you would sleep late, fish a little, play with your grand kids, take siesta with your girlfriend’s, stroll to the village in the evenings where you could sip wine and play your guitar with your amigos.”

  95. I thought you would relate to that story NB, although we rib you a lot it seems that you found the secret to success (via a circuitous route) a lot earlier than most people.

    Off out now to take my wife and daughter to the stores.

  96. Bit quiet in the pub tonight, so I’m off out. Avignon Festival has finished, it’s now the holiday period and the town is very quiet. Very calm…. after the festival it’s very welcome. We have the tourists though, but it’s good to talk to the occasional American or English bird:-)

    a demain mes amis

  97. I have kept an eye on them as they are the closest league team to Chateau Michael. I can’t just smoke and drink all day in my retirement, can I?:)

  98. Morning All,
    At this time of the day coffee all round.

    Arnie read your piece on AA yesterday, but didn’t comment there, you certainly did your homework, 1 gold star coming up.

    Realish football today hooray. Now must go to check Yogi.

  99. Morning

    any idea who isn’t available this weekend apart from the Germans and the keeper.

    NB,

    Do you have a hair fetish:)

    I prefer matching collar and cuffs

  100. IN PRISON…….You spend most of your life looking through bars from inside wanting to get out.
    AT WORK……..You spend most of your time wanting to get out and go inside bars.

  101. In appreciation of us old Farts!
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I am over 65 and the Armed Forces thinks I’m too old to track down terrorists. You can’t be older than 42 to join the military. They’ve got the whole thing arse -backwards.

    Instead of sending 18-year olds off to fight, they ought to take us old guys. You shouldn’t be able to join a military unit until you’re at least 35.

    For starters, researchers say 18-year-olds think about sex every 10 seconds. Old guys only think about sex a couple of times a day, leaving us more than 28,000 additional seconds per day to concentrate on the enemy.

    Young guys haven’t lived long enough to be cranky, and a cranky soldier is a dangerous soldier. ‘My back hurts! I can’t sleep, I’m tired and hungry.’ We are normally bad-tempered and impatient, and maybe letting us kill some arsehole that desperately deserves it will make us feel better and shut us up for a while..

    An 18-year-old doesn’t even like to get up before 10am. Old guys always get up early to pee, so what the hell. Besides, like I said, I’m tired and can’t sleep and since I’m already up, I may as well be up killing some fanatical son-of-a-bitch.

    If captured we couldn’t spill the beans because we’d forget where we put them. In fact, name, rank, and serial number would be a real brainteaser.

    Boot camp would be easier for old guys. We’re used to getting screamed and yelled at and we’re used to soft food. We’ve also developed an appreciation for guns. We’ve been using them for years as an excuse to get out of the house, away from the screaming and yelling.

    They could lighten up on the obstacle course however… I’ve been in combat and never saw a single 20-foot wall with rope hanging over the side, nor did I ever do any press-ups after completing basic training.

    Actually, the running part is kind of a waste of energy, too… I’ve never seen anyone outrun a bullet.

    An 18-year-old has the whole world ahead of him. He’s still learning to shave, to start a conversation with a pretty girl. He still hasn’t figured out that a baseball cap has a brim to shade his eyes, not the back of his head.

    These are all great reasons to keep our kids at home to learn a little more about life before sending them off into harm’s way.

    Let us old guys track down those terrorists. The last thing an enemy would want to see is a couple million pissed off old farts with bad attitudes and automatic weapons, who know that their best years are already behind them.

    HEY!! How about recruiting Women over 50…in menopause!!!
    You think MEN have attitudes??
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhh my God!!!
    If nothing else, put them on border patrol. They’ll have it secured the first night!

  102. Sanogo Sanogo Sanogo Sanogo….. what a way to start your goalscoring for the Gunners. Bloody headaches for AW now…. Campbell = must stay. Sanogo = must stay
    Bellerin….. fucking wonderful, no wonder Jenks went out on loan. Chambers…. good start at CB, potential.

    Fuck, I think we have depth…..

  103. Don’t forget Sore Arses, the Sunday supplement will be published at 9am Sunday morning. Hot off the press….. my views on this coming season. All blood and guts!:-)

  104. I really enjoyed that match, especially the first half. Being picky, I can’t see Coquelin making it.
    Does this qualify as a hater?

  105. Le Coq will probably now make space for AN OTHER and either go out on loan or be sold. That’s not hating, that’s pragmatic. But a very enjoyable match. Problem is, with the points system for the Emirates Cup, the Gunners have spoilt it:-)

  106. Joel Campbell was tremendous. Campbell and Alexis are going to give defences the runaround

  107. Steve,

    Practically the whole team looked tremendous. The stand outs though were Sanogo, Campbell, Ox, Ramsey, Chambers and Martinez… the young GK dodn’t have much to do but when he did, he did it well. Bellerin looked dangerous as well…. what a prospect.

    Also, Cazorla…. I know there is talk of him leaving but he looked good yesterday.

  108. Don’t forget my little Red Sore Arses, the Sunday Supplement will be posted at 9am GMT. This week it’s a ‘Call to Arms’………… getting ready for the new Campaign.

Leave a comment

