My DNA is called ARSENAL..

 Afficher l'image d'origine
20 thoughts on “My DNA is called ARSENAL..

  1. NB, You added the perfect pictures, they brought a tear to my eye. The cars cramming Avennel Road the Drayton Park Pub where we sat outside as kids and drank when we became men (about 15 years old). The picture of the crowd at the Gillespie Road end is just how they were when I was a nipper and us kids used them to our advantage to nip under their legs and into the ground; most of the time they would help us out by blocking off any stewards that were watching.

    Great memories for me.

  2. Oops, I just realized that the cars picture was taken on Drayton Park, the white building was the Express Dairies and is now a block of condo flats.

  3. Superb read, thank you . Compared to today, it`s almost fair to say that time could have been on another planet, great days when we were all innocent and knew nothing of finances etc`. What will technology be like in another 50 years ?…………..our kids kids will probably be taking their mistress doggy style whilst watching a hologram Arsenal game at the other end of the bed !…………even better will be having a hologram missus who is handcuffed to the kitchen sink with the volume on mute !.

  4. Afternoon all nice one N5.
    I was an Arsenal fan from a very young age, My old man, being born in Tottenham took to the Spuds, but in all circumstances wouldn’t have spent hard earned money going to football. Certainly wouldn’t have taken me that’s for sure.

    Although i followed Arsenal results, i was more interested in playing football myself, Started off in a colts side and progressed as i got older, played for my schools and when i left school played for factory teams and other local teams.

    Living in Hertfordshire we had Tottenham’s training ground on our doorstep, many the time me and my mates bunked in to watch them, professional football players were all our dreams so to watch them train we hoped would give us the answers to what we wanted to achieve.

    Money was tight as a youngster, although i worked on paper rounds and bread rounds Milk rounds you name it i did it the money earned was often shared to my Mum so to spend hard earned money to go to football, seemed frivolous, so didn’t go to matches that you had to pay for.

    My football was played Saturdays and clashed with professional football, so i felt mine was more important and a darn site cheaper plus i really enjoyed taking part.

    All this talk about DNA has me smiling, for a kid born in the East end and then taken to Hertfordshire with a family that struggled to make ends meet, just the thought of going regular would not have been possible. As i got older and started to earn more money i was made aware that to live comfortable meant hard work and spend your money wisely.

    So DNA means more to me about family. My old man died when i was seventeen i was then the man of the house, with that responsibility meant giving up more of my earnings to help Mum with the bills, so money always seemed tight. I have to say that i always followed Arsenal results but if i am honest they didn’t get much of my hard earned money.

    Football was about playing, and training i was heartbroken that i would never be good enough to play professionally, but we were always a close knit family and i don’t think we missed out on much as kids.

    I believed then, as i do now, that the price to watch a football match is extortionate. I can watch football from the armchair never miss a game and really and truly i believe i get a better understanding from action replays and on the spot camera’s than i could ever get at the ground. The fares to the stadium the long walk and the walk back freezing my nuts off and gagging for a pee frightened i might miss a goal, At home i can pause it, have a piss, get a cold one out the fridge and restart. Now that’s what i call pleasurable, football as it should be when your older, Ha Ha Dna i love that.

  5. Just a few random memories back from the late 40’s and early 50’s.
    I thought I’d give NB a break and allow him more time to sober up. The Drayton Park used to be full of Arsenal fans but in later years in turned into a pub that the away supporters favoured – my Granddad and Uncles would not be very happy with that.

    We were an exceptionally poor family Steve and the only way my Granddad made it to the games was with the “bobs” he extorted from the car owners. I rarely missed a game but that was only because I used many different ways to bunk into the ground and if I failed I’d always get in at half time.

    It certainly was like being on another planet Le Coq, I would freeze my nuts off standing at the clock end in my short trousers. It was also a rare sight to see an adult man without a hat.

  6. Hiya Norfolk, Shorditch mate a stones throw from Hoxton, I remember going back to visit my Nan on the trolly busses, and playing with my cousins on the bomb sites. My Nans side of the family were mostly Gunners thats my Mums side, The old man and as far as i know my Grandad were Tottenham born and Bred they owned a green grocers on Broad lane, the old Man and my grandfather had a bit of a bust up the lod man through him down the stairs for tucking him up typical Spud and we moved to Hertfordshire. Fucking good job as the East end was a shithole. 🙂

  7. Norfolk, forgot to say, when my Fathers Mother fell on hard times, she moved in with us, i was only young, but we came home one day to an empty house, she and her fancy man had done a bunk and took everything that wasn’t nailed down. So spuds in my mind are fucking dodgy 🙂

  8. sorry N5, i meant to answer you mate, I am glad you and yours are all proud your N5 or N7, Myself Hertfordshire brought us a good life in the country, Things have changed now, more foreigners than English, but we were lucky, we had it when it was fresh and just the odd Italian, Boy i wish it were like that today.

  9. With a very seductive voice the woman asked her husband,

    “Have you ever seen Twenty Dollars all crumpled up?”
    “No,” said her husband.

    She gave him a sexy little smile, unbuttoned the top 3 or 4 buttons of her blouse,
    and slowly reached down into the cleavage created by a soft, silky push-up bra,
    and pulled out a crumpled 20 Dollar bill. He took the crumpled Twenty Dollar bill
    from her and smiled approvingly.

    She then asked him, “Have you ever seen Fifty Dollars all crumpled up?”
    “Uh… no, I haven’t,” he said, with an anxious tone in his voice.

    She gave him another sexy little smile, pulled up her skirt, and seductively
    reached into her tight, sheer panties… and pulled out a crumpled Fifty Dollar bill.
    He took the crumpled Fifty Dollar bill, and started breathing a little quicker with anticipation.

    “Now,” she said, “have you ever seen $50,000 Dollars all crumpled up?”

    A little surprised he said “No!”. trying to hide his anticipation.

    Breathlessly she said ….. “Check the garage.”

  10. Where’s the drunk today, Still brush stroking that young model, boy that spell inside certainly found his feminine side. From a fucking rogue he turns into a French speaking piss artist wino who is still making up for his miss spent youth. God bless him 🙂

  11. Not that anybody cares, but the new boiler is in place, and we have heat and hot water. will have to starve for a few months, but at least she’s gone quiet. 🙂

  12. Looks like the Ox is on his way out of the door. Can’t say I’m disappointed. Let’s see what some certain AA,ers have to say about this one. Wonder if they will still have a love in with him if he leaves?

  13. Steve my mum and dad were married in Shoreditch church, as a kid I played with my cousins on the bomb sites in Stanway street which ran parallel to Hoxton Market.

    Small world isn’t it?

  14. Sure is Norfolk, We may have played together mate. Will keep that in mind if we ever argue Ha ha 🙂

  15. Morning VCC, You soon got wind of that one mate. Just had a look on Newsnow, and when you see how many games he has played he has only scored 2 goals and one assist, small return for a 12 million outlay.

    Looking at some of the figures of Arsenals finances, where it said we had a small loss, is often time to recoup some of our money. Arsenal have been a selling club since we took on the Mortgage. We always seem to buy players who can be sold on in times of financial difficulties. To keep our finances balanced, we have to sell off the odd Player, looks like Oxlaids time has come.

    In all honesty Chamberlain promised a lot when he first started playing, but he has had difficulty keeping fit, and now a long term injury does not help our bank balance.. I have to say that Walcott’s figures are not very good either, he too has seen a lot of injuries, 4 goals so far this season is pitiful when you claim to be a striker.

    I believe the penny has dropped for Wenger, he realises that when his only top striker is Oliver Giroud, who lacks pace, but at least his fitness has been quite good, without him this season and we would have been struggling.

    I believe i read that Englands Manager and some in the FA had asked Wenger to bring on a few English players, as England seemed to be lacking options. Arsene seemed to help out, but in the end all our English players seem to be unable to keep fit long enough to play for us let alone be picked for England, and now English talent has started to surface from other clubs, perhaps Wenger is ready to drop our English contingent..

    Walcott Wilshere Welbeck Gibbs Chamberlain do seem injury prone, where Chambers does seem to be a bit better, we’ll have to wait and see, depends on our profits 🙂

Leave a comment

