Gunners in France

Afficher l'image d'origine

As I type this at 8am this morning it is already a balmy 26°c here in the South of France and forecast to rise into the 30’s.

The Euros kick off tonight with France playing in Paris where train strikes and a rubbish collection strike are in full swing. In Marseille English supporters have already grabbed the headlines, fighting with local lads in the Old Port.

Add to that the threats of terrorist attacks and all the security surrounding the competition and we have a recipe for some very unsavoury headlines.

Our club from North London have nine players in the tournament so it will be an interesting time for us to assess our boys. I put nine players as opposed to eight as the BBC are reporting because they forgot to add Granit our new acquisition to the list.

http://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/uefa-euro-2016/barcelona-9-8-arsenal-which-club-has-the-most-euro-2016-players/ss-BBtJtc3?ocid=spartanntp

Tonight we have the French Ponce and Kos probably starting for Les Bleus and I think Olivier will have a good game, in fact he is my bet to be the top scorer in the competition and furthermore, I see France as the eventual winners.

However, the most interesting aspect for us will be seeing Granit play for the Swiss and to see what sort of player Wenger has purchased.

England may get to the quarters but I think that’s as far as they’ll progress and coinciding with the Brexit vote, we’ll see an early BREXIT for the British sides in the competition. However, Jacko could be the player to help England go further, don’t be shocked to see him have a blinder of a tournament, and if Vardy plays with him it could work well.

My prediction for the surprise package is Iceland…. is it time for another underdog like Greece before them?

So despite the strikes, the rotting rubbish, the English hooligans invading France and the threat of terrorists ruining the whole thing, I’m at this moment drinking a glass of Rosé and looking forward to the opener tonight….. nothing can put me off, just like a true Englishman who fought at the Battle of Agincourt in 1415 or who set foot on the Normandy beaches in 1944……………

 

23 thoughts on “Gunners in France

  1. Iceland I agree and go undefeated without conceding a goal 🙂

    Already kicked off in marseilles last night.Armed police,tear gas the lot.I expect plenty of violence from les Anglais on Tour.

  2. Bonjour Soixante-Neuf, what an excellent post, the only thing missing is a beach babe or two. 😀

    I have one wish for the tournament, apart that is from being free of terrorist attacks, strikes and hooliganism, I want to see the players play football not play-acting. Cut out the diving, cut out the feigning of injuries, cut out the referee mobbing.

    Cut out the cheating and let everyone enjoy the football.

  3. Morning Kelsey and Norfolk..;; the GunnersoreArses greatest doomers ha ha

    Don’t mock Iceland Kels…. I think they’ll do well.

    Norfolk, I agree totally….. let’s enjoy the football and leave out the cheating, no Henryesque type handballs or Vardy dives ha ha

  4. Morning all,
    fuck another post so soon, you must have got laid last night by a miner and left early.
    I tip England, but I would wouldnt I.
    The youngest squad from what I have read. Yes we have a few Arsenal players in the competition and I believe they will all be in our winning league trophy side next season.

    England fans are hated all over the world, and there team will have many contraversial decisions, I feel Eufa will be out to get us as we are thinking of detaching ourselves from Europe, but what they forget is that England fight best when alone and their backs are against a wall.

    In past years Arsenal have had contraversial decisions preventing us from winning competitions, I see the same thing happening for this England team, if the Euro vision song contest has any bearing on how we will do I doubt many would like us in too long. Fuck em all I say, let’s get out there and do the business. I am no racist, but I don’t much like the way we are treated every where we go, take our money and our aid then show us the door fuck em I say. Get in do the job and fuck off back to blighty, trophy secured, just the way it’s always been, you can kick an English man as much as you like but that fuckers will still keep coming back, That’s my lot off to catch fish.

  5. Morning peeps
    Steve, you are in good form today lol
    Its the 50th anniversary of England winning a competition, funny thing is we have had good players, and good managers, but not often the two together, then of course luck….Maybe Woys boys can change that, although I wont be holding my breath.

  6. I think we every chance of being built up as world beaters then the collapse.

    Giroud is 12/1 to win the golden boot , that’s goals scored not own goals.

  7. Betting is for mugs. I remember a conversation all long term ago between a bookmaker and an inveterate punter. The bookmaker said “if you ever see a poor bookie, there’ll be a dead donkey beside him.” The punter sadly agreed.

    Now I expect to hear all the stories of the winning bets you have placed. Don’t forget that for every win there hundreds if not thousands of losing bets on the same event.

  8. Wow – Seems like some folks live in the land of negativity.

    Lets change the pace and have a little chuckle.

    I rarely pass on “blonde jokes” but I laughed this one and hope you’ll forgive me for sending it!

    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

    Job Interview

    Three blondes were all applying for the last available position on the Texas Highway Patrol. The detective conducting the interview looked at the three of them and said, “So y’all want to be cops, huh?”

    The blondes all nodded.

    The detective got up, opened a file drawer, and pulled out a folder.

    Sitting back down, he opened it, pulled out a picture, and said, “To be a detective, you have to be able to detect. You must be able to notice things such as distinguishing features and oddities like scars and so forth.” So he stuck the photo in the face of the first blonde and withdrew it after about two seconds. “Now,” he said, “did you notice any distinguishing features about this man?”

    The blonde immediately said, “Yes, I did. He has only one eye!”
    The detective shook his head and said, “Of course he has only one eye in this picture! It’s a side profile of his face! You’re dismissed!”

    The first blonde hung her head and walked out of the office.

    The detective then turned to the second blonde, stuck the photo in her face for two seconds, pulled it back, and said, “What about you? Notice anything unusual or outstanding about this man?”

    “Yes, I did. He only has one ear!”

    The detective put his head in his hands and exclaimed, “Didn’t you hear what I just told the last applicant? This is side picture profile of the man’s face. Of course you can only see one ear! You’re excused too.”

    The second blonde sheepishly walked out of the office.

    The detective turned his attention to the third and last blonde and said, “This is probably a waste of time, but….” He flashed the photo for a couple of seconds and withdrew it, saying, “Alright, did you notice anything distinguishing or unusual features about this man?”

    The blonde said, “I sure did. This man wears contact lenses.”

    The detective frowned, took another look at the picture, and began looking at some of the papers in the folder. He looked up at the blonde with a puzzled expression and said, “You’re absolutely right! His bio says he wears contacts! How in the world could you tell that by looking at his picture? »

    The blonde rolled her eyes and said, “Well, hellooooooooo! With only one eye and one ear, he certainly can’t wear glasses.”

  9. It’s good to see the entertainment is continuing, more speculation about Arsenal signings in the media today.

    Ricardo Rodriguez, Wolfsburg’s twenty three year old left back is looking likely to sign in the near future. To top that we are in the market for a young centre back, twenty year Rob Holding from Bolton Wanderers is the target.

    No hint of a striker yet but there’s still a chance that Vardy will eventually make his mind up to join us.

    All good fun and more interesting than watching England drop catches while Sri Lanka reach 73 for nought.

  10. Well the FFP did okay, five good chances and then the ball hits him on the back of his head and goes in the net. 😀

    Payet’s goal was a beauty though. A worthy game winner.

  11. Morning all,
    Got down the lake bout ten, and unloaded the gear , trudged my barrow to the bottom of the lake where I had raked a swim out and tidied the bank up in the winter months, only to find the sun and rain had made the undndergrodmit crashing uth grow and not much room so back tracked to the other end where I cl of themeared a swim on Monday and where I had two fish out.

    Today was different than Monday because spawning was happening and the Carp were going potty all over the lake. I sat to the Mrs we will have a quiet day today as the fish have other things on their minds, but now I had unloaded and trudged all round the lake, couldn’t be bothered to go anywhere else so I set up.

    I have seen spawning many times a spectacular sight I must admit, crashing and bashing male and female flanking one another, but usually you end up with a paper hat and go home empty. But today would be different, one on the float and one ledgered. I thought the Carp are spawning but the Tench arn’t I may just snag one of them.
    We
    After an hour, my float moved and started to sink under the surface I struck and all hell broke loose after a fifteen minute struggle of diving one way then the other, the eighteen pound Carp finally slipped in my net. Couple of hours later my alarm on the ledger sprung into action and I struck the fish and low and behold a seventeen pounder, both of these Carp were males, and both shed a lot of milt on my changing mat, only to prove the theory wrong that Carp won’t feed while spawning.

    Of course my mind went back to this morning where I said that Nor thank had shagged a Miner, I felt that while NB was on the vinegar strokes and he had looked round and saw a Kitcat next to the miners hat would he had eaten it, and I had to say yes he would have done, mystery solved.

    I got home in time to watch the match after stopping off for beer, and a bit of a boring match I felt, but seeing the French ponce get one off the back of his nut did make me smile and after my fourth bottle of Bud I saw Pouret’s blinder what a winning goal that was. I was ready for bed and slept like a log, come on England.

Leave a comment

